The Gospel According to Lost by Chris Seay

Lost by Chris Seay So, I was really excited when I found out this was one of the books I could review and as soon as it became available I signed up for it. Being a huge fan of the show Lost, I ripped into the package and began immediately to read what I was hoping would be a great book linking my favorite earthly obsession with my favorite heavenly one.

Here’s how my reading of this book went. Read Prologue….love it. Read chapters 1-3….still love it. Read chapters 4-9….is this really all it is going to be about? Chapter 10….maybe not, maybe it has more. Read chapters 10-13….nope, this is really all it is going to be about? Put book down for 2 weeks….remember I have to finish it to get a new one. Read chapters 14-16….maybe I am missing the point of the book; maybe it is a lot better than I thought. Read chapter 17….nope.

The premise of the entire book is to revel in a story without being concerned with the conclusion. Chris wants you to do this with the TV show Lostbut, more importantly, to do it with your own spiritual story. Just as most viewers of Lostreturn week after to week despite the constant confusion and seemingly irreconcilable plots; so too must we be enthralled with our own spiritual stories without always having to know where we are being led.

As far as bringing me to revel in the story of Lost , this book did an excellent job. It presented the best Judaic-Christian interpretation of LostI have ever heard of personally pondered (I mean, which one of us hasn’t considered it to be purgatory, heaven and hell, etc.). But, sadly, this is all it had to offer. Each chapter is filled page after page with character’s stories and how they might represent some Judaic-Christian principle or person. However, there was very little in any chapter (and none in some) that would connect me to my own spiritual story and rejoice in it.

If you are looking for an excellent Judaic-Christian interpretation of Lost, I give it 5 out of 5 muffins.
If you are looking for a book to connect deeper with God through a look at your own spiritual story, I give it 1 out of 5 muffins.

Leave a Reply

