Creating

What is the normal outcome for you when you try to create something? Isn’t normally that we look at it and think, “I could have done better” or “Here’s where it needs improvement” or “That sucks”. That’s how it usually goes for me. I am never satisfied when I play creator because I can always see its failings.

I saw a tree today that was created as close to perfection as I have ever taken the time to notice. Every leaf was the same hue of gold and when the sun shone through them it was an awe-some sight. I stopped and stared at it for several minutes before moving on. It brought a joy within me that is indescribable and I was finally able to connect with what God meant when he said, “It is good”. It means that he looked and what he had created lacked nothing- it was compelete. He rested because there was nothing else to be done. No improvements. No next time I try this…. This “goodness” is around us everyday. Perfection is tangible every minute. God, the perfectionist, is near. And it is good.

One response to this post.

  1. Sylvia Plath has this incredible poem called “On the Plethora of Dryads” which makes me think of this tree. I’m glad you had this moment.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

