Mama T and Fasting Me

Mother Theresa (my new crush) said, “To understand poverty, one must touch it.” For the next 30-hours, me and a group of my friends are attempting to touch poverty on some small level. We have all signed onto doing a 30-Hour Famine which will raise awareness in the community and funds for starving children through World Vision. For each of us this means no food for 30 hours- from noon today until 6pm tomorrow night.

This is not the first time I have fasted, but it is the first time I have fasted with a wholly outward focus and motivation. In the past, when I have fasted, it has been a very personal, intimate time with God seeking His direction. But I am really getting into this fasting for something greater than myself.

    Isn’t this the kind of fasting that I want:
    To free those who have been wrongly imprisioned;
    To lighten the burden of those who work for you;
    To let the oppressed go free,
    and to remove the chains that bind people;
    To share your food with the hungry,
    and give shelter to the homeless;
    To give clothes to those who need them,
    and to not hide from those who need your help?

Though I will eat again tomorrow night and will probably never worry about where my next meal is coming from, in these next 30 hours I will seek solidarity with those have no hope day to day and I will seek to share my food with them.

    My Prayer for the Hungry
    Merciful Father,
    I give praise to you today for being the God of all people-
    The haves and the have-nots,
    The satisfied and the pleading,
    The filled and the hungry.
    And I come before you now as one who has and is satisfied and is filled.
    But my prayer today is for those who have not,
    for those who are pleading,
    for those who are starving.
    I pray that you will look down on them in loving pity.
    I pray that you will fill them today.
    And if that means that you must take away from me so that they may have,
    Then I beg you to do so, Father.
    I pray that you will lay it on the hearts of the rich
    To provide for the bodies of the poor.
    Today, I pray that you will bring together both the rich and the poor
    As the Brotherhood of Man
    Under the Fatherhood of Heaven.
    In the name of the One who was rich and yet became poor so I could be satisfied.
Leave a Reply

