Rewriting Scripture

On Sunday night, a group of my friends got together to talk about how we make Scripture more personal for us. We decided to participate in an exercise where we rewrote Scripture in our own words. It was neat to see how the same words written long ago spoke to each person in a different way. We chose Psalm 8 and here is how I rewrote it:

Lord, the whole earth knows you because you are so great.

You are infinite.
Those who do not believe in you have no answers
When they look at the beautiful intricacies that exist
In small children.

And I have no answers, just questions, when I see the beatifully amazing things that you have created.
It makes me wonder why you put up with me.
I wonder why you have given people so much power in your world when all we can seem to do is destroy it.
But these things just show my lack of understanding.

Lord, the whole earth knows you because you are so great.

No Psalmist David I know, but that is how God spoke to me through Psalm 8 that night. And he speaks to each of us in his own ways. I need to take the time to listen more.

Leave a Reply

